Investing

Life update

It’s been a while since I last posted here. I wasn’t sure if I was going to write this post let alone publish it. Both because it is highly personal and that I didn’t realise there was a lesson in it until I typed it out. My original version of this was much longer, but some details have since been removed.

A few months ago, my father suffered a brain aneurysm, or more commonly called a brain bleed or a stroke. Thanks to quick thinking from the people surrounding him at the time and the great care he received in the hospital he survived.

It is currently unknown which of the current issues he has with walking, balance or speech will be permanent or will be resolved in time. We can only hope for the best, time will tell. We can consider us lucky already compared to other people we saw on the same unit in the hospital.

This event has left us scarred. It definitely has made me reconsider my perspective on life itself and how transitory it can be. I can remember having doubts on whether or not to go to a dinner with someone or how much a weekend away would additionally cost us. I already considered myself somewhat more aware on the importance of time & making memories, but this has made me even more focused.

Saving and investing is one of the most important things you can do in your life to build a better future for yourself and your loved ones. But don’t forget to live now, because tomorrow is promised to no one.

So go out and make those memories (money be damned) because in the end they are worth so much more than some number on a balance sheet.

And if you can, call your mom/dad/family member and tell them that you love them.

12 thoughts on “Life update

    1. Good that you wrote the post Mr. Robot. Living through bad times makes you more aware of the preciousness of time and making memories instead of e.g. being very hard on yourself about a saving rate.

      Good luck with your dad, I hope he recovers well.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lost my Dad to an aneurysm when I was just 19. Your Dad and you have a second chance, make every second with him count.

    It is tough, on one hand you need to be savy with saving and investing to have the freedom to do some things but if you focus too much on it life goes on without you. Finding that balance is key and only you can figure it out. But we’ll encourage you for whichever path you choose 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thats very sad to read SDG, I can’t imagine what that would have been like. We will definetely make the seconds count.

      Thanks for having my back!

      Like

  2. We used to be much more of a stickler with our spending, but we’ve definitely relaxed a bit as we’ve gotten older. I’m just glad that we’re in a situation where we can spend relatively mindlessly and still be able to sock savings away. I know there’s plenty of people that don’t have that choice so we definitely consider ourselves lucky. Sorry to hear about your dad and hoping that he’s able to make a full recovery. When I was in high school one of my really good friends dad passed away from a brain aneurysm.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As a stroke survivor myself (5 of them), depending on the portions of the brain impacted it may be a couple of years before the lasting impact is known.

    Great insight on cherishing each moment, and I would add the additional patience required is likely appreciated by your dad as I realize now my family bore the brunt of many of my frustrations as I went through therapy (Speech, PT and Occupational). Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment