Dividend Received · Investing

October 2017 Dividend Report

October has come and gone, only November and December left for me in this first year of my DGI journey. And what an amazing journey it is so far. Next to the joy of building your financial future and seeing free money rolling in I have to say the other big thing about this whole thing is the DGI community. What an awesome group of people there is sharing their knowledge and experiences for the benefit of all. I thank you all!

Without further ado I present my results for this month!

A total of three companies paid me in October:

Date Ticker Shares Amount (€)
13/10/2017 NYSE:O 5 0.76
16/10/2017 NYSE:HASI 15 3.57
25/10/2017 NYSE:CSCO 10 2.08
€6.41

So the total amount for this month is €6,41 which is less than previous month total of €8,56. This amount already has been adjusted fo the foreign withholding tax of 15% (not 30% since our country has a tax treaty).

My year to date graph is now looking like this:

dividend_received_october_YTD.png

With these dividends received I am also inching towards my 2017 goal:

dividend_total_october_2017.png

Slowly but steadily I am reaching the half way mark. With one month left to go in 2017 it is safe to say that I definitely will not reach my total dividend goal. I was somewhat optimistic in what I could achieve with the allocated money for this DGI adventure in just 11 months. Nevertheless I am pleased with the progress I’m making and I’m really looking forward to making YOY comparisons in 2018.

I still have one buy in November which could affect my dividend income for this December providing I time it right, so stay tuned!

So dear reader, how was your monthly haul?

18 thoughts on “October 2017 Dividend Report

  1. Even though you won’t hit your yearly goal, you are still on the right path and are increasing your dividend income. Just means when you reassess your goals next year, you can come up with a better estimate for a goal to hit. I own or have owned all of the stocks you collected from in October. Just keep buying quality companies and you will be fine long term.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Mr. Robot!
    Nice job receiving those dividends! My month looked very similar to yours with the amount received and companies owned (O and CSCO paid me this month). It’s nice to monitor somebody who is in a similar situation as me so I am looking forward to continue watching your journey!
    -BI

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice! Just watch them grow now. HASI maybe buying MAT soon, so it may end up being the only big toy company.

    Regarding foreign withholding tax, when you file your taxes, can you get a deduction or credit for the 15%? Just wondering because US residents can claim a deduction or a credit for their foreign withholding tax up to a certain limit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mr.ATM, I think you might have mistaken the HASI stock. It’s not a you company but an green infrastructure stock;-)

      For the 15% tax I might be able to get a deduction for that amount when I have to pay additional taxes on savings/investments. This is only in the case that it exceeds a certain limit. So we’ll see that next year.

      Like

  4. You are still making some great progress with your dividend income even if you won’t meet your goal. Just keep buying and building one share at a time. CSCO is a name that I am still considering for my own portfolio one day. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

